Can My Admiration for Ben Mendelsohn Survive Reading His Ex-Wife’s Divorce Memoir?

Emma Forrest’s latest memoir “Busy Being Free…” is a Hollywood tell all with a difference

Steffany Ritchie
9 min readApr 15, 2024
Photo by cottonbro studio: https://www.pexels.com/photo/woman-in-white-dress-reading-book-4156284/

The first time I saw Ben Mendelsohn onscreen was in the Netflix show Bloodline. He played the black sheep of the family Danny, a character so covered in thorns and simmering with rage that in lesser hands would have come off as completely unlikable.

Mendelsohn in this role was electric. It was so raw, so exposed, so without vanity. I was enthralled and wanted to see other examples of Mendelsohn’s work. This was before he started becoming the baddie du jour in Hollywood, so there were mainly a few indie films to watch.

In several of his films, he played everything from sociopathic characters to underdogs with humanity and pathos.

When he broke through into big parts in the Star Wars and Marvel franchises I rooted for him from the side lines as they aren’t really my bag. I was glad he was exploiting his success: all actors deserve to make that bank should the opportunity arise.

When I like an actor I both do and do not want to see behind the curtain. I enjoy the interviews I have seen of his; the persona is a cheeky, upbeat Aussie chappie who doesn’t take…

--

--

Steffany Ritchie

Hi, I write memoir, humor, music, and pop culture. American in Scotland.