I’m the Cashier at Your Local Health Food Store, and We Both Know You Are an Imposter

You’re not fooling anyone, but come on in

Steffany Ritchie
4 min readMay 2, 2024
Photo by Tima Miroshnichenko: https://www.pexels.com/photo/woman-in-tropical-print-dress-ordering-in-front-of-cashier-behind-the-counter-6545445/

Good afternoon. I’m Maya, just checking in to see if you need anything in particular today here at Gracious Grains?

Oh, you want the yogurt covered nuts? Hm. I think they are at the bottom of the aisle, in the corner by the chocolate covered nuts, in case you needed those too. Such a naughty treat!

Those dried mango slices are delish! I love fruit to be chewier than beef jerky, such great fibre. I always have them with my cacao and coconut smoothie before my morning meditation.

I see you checking out that box of DIY falafel dust. Are you sure you don’t already have one of those at home? Oh, you bought it five years ago? I’m pretty sure that stuff will survive any world apocalypse event, but best to stock up.

Ooh, the carob tahini goes with anything. It’s so good on Tofutti! Seriously, it puts Ben & Jerry’s to shame!

Put it in your basket with the miso soup and seaweed thins you are also going to forget to eat until they are out of date. It feels great just to know you tried though, doesn’t it?

Ugh, I am so out of shape. My yoga class got cancelled this week. It’s a great dawn…

--

--

Steffany Ritchie

Hi, I write memoir, humor, music, and pop culture. American in Scotland.